Testimonials

Let us know how you feel about our services.
Leave us a google review.

5 star review  Superb service from beginning to end! Trevor is a gem. He is kind, caring, compassionate and a true professional. Our family was so lucky to have him assist us during a difficult time. Thank you for everything!

thumb Debbie Danford
April 14, 2022

5 star review  I would like to start by thanking Mr. Joe, Mrs. Amy and the rest of the staff for such a great outcome in the funeral service they provided for our family member. Loosing a love one can be such a hard and sad situation. But I am just very thankful that this wonderful funeral home made the process very easy for us. They were very attentive since day one. Always paying attention to detail and what we wanted for the service to be like. We also appreciate such wonderful ideas, that really did help alot! The Delgado family and the Ramirez family will always be grateful to every single person who made this possible because everything we asked for was given to us and much more. We couldn't have found a better place to have the service at. Thank you for treating us not like another customer but more like a family member. If you ever need a service for a love one this is the place to go, we recommended 100%. Thank you again Joseph B.Paul Jr. Funeral Service.

thumb Leticia Perez
March 29, 2022

5 star review  Diane and her staff were so wonderful to work with during a difficult time. They helped in so many ways make a contribute to my moms life easy. Very accommodating and a really nice set up for family and friends to gather too.

thumb Heather Moorefield
February 21, 2022

5 star review  Even though a visit to a funeral home because you have lost your husband is one of the saddest days of your life, Sydney made it as easy as possible. She is so professional but also so compassionate at the same time.

thumb Susan Hines
February 21, 2022

5 star review  I don't imagine when one walks into a mortuary/funeral home that it's even' in the back of your mind that 'luck' will find you there. But that is exactly what happened at Bucktrout of Williamsburg Virginia. We (my son and I) had found ourselves living in another city, not our own, but quite alone after the too-recent death of my husband and my son's dad.

Luck walked in with a terrific elegance and yet there was something so kind in his face that it reached his eyes, and all of a sudden we felt safe. Not from scams or poor quality service (the place is clean, lovely -- nay, beautiful -- but it was still a mortuary.) No the 'safety' came with the luck.

'Luck' was our particular Mortuary Director, Trevor Hutson. Whether we (my son and I) looked like we were still terribly sad (we were) and broken (on the verge) there was something in Trevor Hutson that said, no worries. Just no worries.

And there were none. As soon as he spoke, with a solemnity that was edged with sweetness, we sensed we were in the right place. It only got
better. I can only guess that most people can take an hour to get a sentence out because all one's thinking has become skewered, and questions that were so necessary to be asked, were no where to be found.

Trevor picked up on this immediately: he was obviously no stranger to broken hearts and unclear thoughts trying to be said in an understandable way. He never lost eye contact. He never looked away. He was the luck we needed so badly: with the death of a sweet, kind and terribly helpful man, the fates delivered a sweet, kind and unbelievably helpful man. He was able to answer anything we were sputtering to say.

I would be foolish to think that Bucktrout didn't have others like
Trevor. I would be foolish to believe that a place so clean and beautiful
didn't have the reputation of 'being the ONLY place in Williamsburg Virginia to utilize when death comes to one's house' -- Bucktrout would be
the place I would want even if I lived in France! I mean this: it was a full-service heart-mender. And for my son and I personally, most of that was
due to Trevor himself. He made every long minute of the process of saying goodbye lighter than we thought possible, and yet more dignified
than any experience i've had before. I didn't feel like a stranger in a strange and new place: i felt like I was in an extension of a family, my
family. I don't think it possible for me to recommend it more highly. And
perhaps luck will be with you as well, and Trevor Hutson will be the man
to see your situation through from beginning to -- well -- the end.

Ronni & Adam Ashcroft

thumb Ronni Ashcroft
February 21, 2022

5 star review  The family of Janie Pruitt Bell would like to thank Joe Paul, Amy Parker, Dennis Robertson, Fletcher Adams, and the remaining staff for their professionalism and compassion following our loss. Everyone was extremely helpful and kind. Thank you.

thumb Kathy Pruitt
January 29, 2022

5 star review  My mom passed in February of 2021. I called Joe and he was right there to help me with everything. He gives great service and you will not be disappointed. I also used his services for my grandmother and uncle. He is a great guy and will go out of the way to assist with anything that comes up. So trust me call him for all your funeral needs. I am going to do pre-planning for myself with him too.

thumb Timothy Greer
December 29, 2021

5 star review  My father recently passed, and the family quickly came together to help my mother plan the funeral. I must admit that I had concerns going into the first meeting with Joe Paul and the team at Joseph B Paul Funeral Services. I wanted to give my father the funeral he requested prior to his passing and support my mother. I walked into the first meeting with assumptions and expectations. I found that many of my assumptions were somewhat misguided, and my expectations were exceeded … even greatly exceeded.

Joe, Dennis, Fletcher, and the Joseph B Paul team were fantastic. They were very attentive to our needs and respectful to the family during such a difficult time. Both Joe and Dennis made changes along the way to accommodate the family’s needs, provided excellent contacts in the community to help the family with other topics beyond the funeral arrangements, and calmly addressed a few surprises along the way (cemetery had improperly filed a few documents and initially had difficulty identifying the location of the plot). They were also extremely supportive throughout the process, for example, being very patient with us when compiling the photos for the video (thanks Fletcher!). Joe followed up several times to get the death certificate and was very transparent throughout the entire process, from start to finish.

Most importantly, Joe and Dennis attended to the family’s emotional needs. The entire team was always calm, respectful, and empathetic. We felt that they genuinely cared about the family and giving my father the funeral he deserved. They even helped us laugh a little bit.

I give them my highest recommendation. Expectations exceeded.

Albert C Everson, Jr.

thumb Paige Everson
November 29, 2021

5 star review  My experience with Joe Paul and his team is more than I can express. They went above and beyond to make sure that all our needs and requests were met in the most kind way. I love every employee that works there. Joe, Dennis, Fletcher, Josh and Amy thank you so very much from the bottom of my heart for the superb service you provided during such a difficult time and loss.

thumb Robyn
October 29, 2021

5 star review  First and foremost this funeral service is THE ONLY one my entire family will ever use as long as its remotely close to the deceased member. I sat down with Joe Paul Jr. with my two older brothers and at first it was formal and business like. Once we discussed who we were, who we were kind to, who our family was Joe made us feel like a member of his family. He personally knew alot of my family. We decided to honor my dads wishes and "Throw him in a pine box," we had discussed with my dad and my dad's wishes were for use to bury him as cheap as possible.
Joe felt the need to upgrade our service and provide us with a full graveside service.
My brothers and I felt like Joe was one of our uncles or something. Great guy, Great family business, Great employees that he considers family. I grew up in this small town and felt right at home. If your trying to decide what funeral service to use, TRUST ME PLEASE. There is no other place to use in Eastern NC that is going to provide you with TOP NOTCH service for your time of need. Joseph B. Paul Jr. uses all his experience from the formerly run Paul Funeral home to provide a professional and considerate service.

thumb Steven Smith
October 29, 2021

5 star review  In the middle of September, I suddenly, in a week's time, had my husband and daughter succumb to the Covid virus and both passed away on the same day. A couple a days before that, I realized things were probably going to end for both of them really soon! Besides the shock and much sadness about the possibility they would die, I knew I had to arrange, not one, but 2 funerals!

We had not attended to end of life issues very well. I really needed help from a reliable funeral service to help me in my particular situation, and quick! I called Joe Paul and asked him what he could do for me. He said let's sit down, I'll help you any way I can.

From that minute he and his staff, Amy, Fletcher, Jay, and Josh never let me worry about anything I asked them about. The guidance I got from Joe was the easiest thing, even though, I felt like I was certainly going to frustrate them the way I wanted things to be right for my 2 family members. That was so important to me! I wanted them honored at the end of their life. Joe guided me every step by first, telling me the options I could choose. By him talking so personally with me about his own experiences and me to him about mine, I was able to choose the best way for us. I am at much peace about how it ended on the day of our private family memorial.

I think I called about something everyday, either, to ask them to change something or add to the obituary, or add more photos to the tributes. Fletcher is a professional in that! Amy, Jay and Josh were so patient with adding and changing things and they made sure I was happy with the written obituaries.

I trusted Josh and Jay, also, to pick up my loved ones, once I got to know
them. That really mattered to me! I think they respect everyone when doing their jobs.

I know I've left something out, but, they did so many things for me and very professionally, even, at my home during the memorial, they were there to assist anyway we needed. To me, they all went above and beyond their job. I recommend them to anyone when needing funeral services! Thank you all!

thumb jeanette wallace
October 29, 2021

5 star review  Bucktrout Funeral Home provided excellent customer service during our difficult time when our mother passed away last August 29, 2021. We are so grateful of Sydney's Southard services. She explained everything to us clearly and very patient with us as well. On behalf of my siblings we HIGHLY RECOMMEND BUCKTROUT FOR YOUR FUNERAL NEEDS.

thumb Gloria Capungan
October 21, 2021

5 star review  Joe Paul and everyone that we had dealings with treated us very well. From the time the doors were opened for us we received all of help that we needed. Fletcher and Dennis answered all of my questions with nothing but respect. I would highly recommend this funeral home for your needs when needed. Everything was done as professional as could be. Everyone always had a smile and made you feel good even when your heart was heavy and full of sorrow. My brother was Dennis “Booboo” Harding

thumb Lynell Toler
September 29, 2021

5 star review  Still in-process

thumb Howard Phillips
September 21, 2021

5 star review  Joe, Amy, and all the staff at Joseph B Paul Jr funeral home went above and beyond to help my family with trying to find some sense of closure with the recent loss of our son. To my surprise, Joe provided all of their services free of charge. These are wonderful people. God bless y’all.

thumb Dillon Bunch
August 29, 2021

5 star review  The moment I set down with Joey Moritz to take care of my parents final wishes, I was a bundle of nerves. I get that just walking into a Funeral Home.
He was able to help me through the process with ease to what our needs were. My father just passed with COVID and I as well had COVID. Sydney has helped me through all of this electronically as I am in quarantine and no one to assist me with this. Their compassion and sincere caring of supporting and guiding me through such a difficult time was over the top. God Bless you for your kindness and caring for my family.
Peggy See

thumb Peggy See
August 21, 2021

5 star review  Josh did a truly wonderful and amazing job handling my mom's funeral. My mom passed unexpectedly, and I wasn't sure which funeral home to go with. Had a few people that had recommended Joseph B. Paul's Jr funeral home. I am very glad I decided to go with them, they were so pleasant and everything was beautiful. I would definitely go with Josh again if I had to do it all over again.  I will definitely recommend Josh and Joseph B. Paul's funeral home. Thank you Josh for making the hardest worst day of my life just a little easier. I definitely don't regret using your service.

thumb Everyday Life With Savannah
June 29, 2021

5 star review  We choose Bucktrout for my brother... Even from the first meeting with Dianne, they are nothing but kind and there for you through this.. Angela even made my 6yr old feel comfortable there and played with him, just like how his uncle did with very involved imagination. Trevor an intern actually ended up speaking during my brother's service as the other guy had a horrible accident. Trevor did amazing, and the emotion Trevor spoke with touched our hearts because he paid attention to every story we told about John and I'm so glad he did, it touched my family's hearts.

thumb Lynn Weiland
June 21, 2021

5 star review  

thumb Clifford
May 21, 2021

5 star review  We are so happy that we had chose Bucktrout of Williamsburg. We found them by looking at their 5 star reviews, and after our experience with them, we understand why they have this level of customer service. They took a very difficult time for us, and made it as easy as possible, working day and night for us to minimize the stress of decisions on our family. Krissy, and all of the staff made our experience as easy as possible and I would highly recommend them for anyone that may need these services in the future.

thumb Daniel Roth
April 21, 2021